Holidays

HOLIDAYS

Holiday Schedule to be Observed in the Year 2018

January

New Year’s Day
Monday, January 01

Ethiopian Christmas (Genna)
Sunday, January 07

Martin Luther King Day
Monday, January 15

Epiphany (Timket)
Friday, January 19

February

Presidents’ Day
Monday, February 19

March

Victory of Adwa
Friday, March 02

April

Ethiopian Good Friday
Friday, April 06

Ethiopian Easter (Fasika)
Sunday, April 08

May

May Day (International Labor Day)
Tuesday, May 01

Patriots’ Victory Day
Saturday, May 05

Downfall of the Derg
Monday, May 28

Memorial Day
Monday, May 28

June

Eid al-Fitre (End of Ramadan)
Friday, June 15

July

Independence Day
Wednesday, July 04

August

Eid al-Adha (Arefa)
Wednesday, August 22

September

Labor Day
Monday, September 03

Ethiopian New Year (Enkutatash)
Tuesday, September 11

Meskel
Thursday, September 27

October

Columbus Day
Monday, October 08

November

Veterans’ Day
Monday, November 12

Birthday of the Prophet Mohammed (Moulid)
Wednesday, November 21

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 22

December

Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 25